Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title:Onyx
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Lux
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Published: August 14, 2012
Pages: 376

From the Publisher:Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Let’s start off with the smoochy trailer, shall we?

Rating: top shelf overall
Celeste: I give it 5 flashing stars. It’s top shelf for me.
Christina: Top shelf for me as well, though I liked Obsidian more, I think. (I reckon {OMG, redneck words, lol}  my biggest problem with Onyx was the secret-keeping, mostly on Katy’s side of things. Every time she wanted to say something, but never did, I felt like punching a pillow.)
Ana: Top shelf for me but I agree with Christina…I think I liked Obsidian more!
Jag: I’m giving it 4 cold showers, um I mean second shelf only because I like Obsidian more.

The first sentence: “Ten seconds passed between when Daemon Black took his seat and when he poked me under my shoulder blade with his trusty pen. Ten whole seconds.”
Christina: The pen poke and “Good morning, Kitten” at the beginning made me wiggle my toes in excitement while I was huddled beneath the covers in the bed.
Ana: Best possible way to start the book off…the pen poke and a “kitten” to get us started!! I was flailing on the inside and it was only page 1!
Celeste: I LOVED the pen poking straight away! I sat down and bucked up for this book. I may have sat down and rubbed my hands together mischievously I was so excited.
Jag: Symbolism! *giggle* I’ve been reading too much YA lately 🙂

Cookies:

Christina: Katy loves chocolate chip cookies. It’s official, we were all totally meant to be BFFs.
Ana: I saw the video in my head when I read that scene and my mind was on a constant loop…OMG…OMG…OMG!
Celeste: Yes, we are soulmates here, ladies. I love how confident Daemon is about his attraction to Kat. I also love how the best friends openly drool, made me giggle so much.
Jag: I love how things flip flop in this book, the pursuer becomes the pursued 🙂

The whole library scene:
Christina: WOWZERS!
Ana: Can I say that I really want them to do it in the library?!?! lol…oh, and those poor computers don’t stand a chance.  I was on the edge of my seat…reading way too fast for my own good!
Celeste: NGL, that was pretty steamy.
Jag: *fans self* I want Daemons POV on this scene.  gah!

Quotes:
Christina:“Don’t hit, Kitten. It’s not nice.” BWAHAHA!
Ana: Just like the first book, there are so many great quotes in this book!!  It’s hard to pick just one but I’d have to say that my favorite Daemon quote is “Modesty is for saints and losers.  I’m neither.” Coming from anyone else, this would have garnered an eye-roll from me…but from Daemon…hawt!
Celeste:“Kitten, your mind is a terrible and dirty place.” I may have fanned myself.
Christina:“Why do you keep touching me?” I ask, flustered. “I like to.” akldgklajdkfjl; FUDGE!
Ana: *flails*
Jag: *yells* What they said! All of it.  (refer to cold shower rating)

Katy and Daemon in Onyx vs. Obsidian:
Celeste: Still plenty of UST, but it was different than the first book. While Katy wanted Daemon she didn’t trust it was real. But, just like in Obsidian I just wanted them to give in and go at it.
Christina: I think I liked that it was a little sweeter this time. Daemon trying to bring the swooooon… Oh. Heck. Yes. You know I’m a real kitten (Heh, see what I did there, heehee? ) for the cute, swoony stuff. It makes me purrrrr. (Seriously, I’m stopping now.)
Ana: I agree that there was still plenty of UST but their interactions were more intimate in many ways…the banter hit closer to the heart and I really liked that!
Jag: I cannot lie, I m a big fan of the pursuit and the push away and the UST dance of it all.  Obsidian wins this one hands down.  I like the heat 😉

Katy’s abilities:
Christina: Interesting. I’m really curious about what’s going on with that.
Ana: OMG…it’s like a part of him has gotten inside her…linked forever!!
Celeste: I was like oooh, very cool. Then I was like ooooh oooh ooh when I realized how connected they were. Now they have to be together!
Jag: Loved it, loved the link, loved the word ‘forever’.

Blake:
Christina: Hmmm, what’s up with the new kid?
Ana: I prayed immediately that it didn’t turn into a love triangle!!!  He’s definitely straightforward about what he wants from Katy in the beginning and I wasn’t sure how I felt about that.  Of course, he’s hot but, he’s no Daemon!  He did surprise me in several spots though.
Christina: I’m trying really hard not to like him, buuuuutttt I’m struggling. Also, why was Dee acting so weird around him? Was it just because she knows Daemon has feelings for Katy or is it something else? I mean, if he was “different,” wouldn’t Daemon shut it down?
Celeste: I don’t like him. I agree with my bbf (book boyfriend) Daemon that we can’t trust him. He doesn’t seem sincere.
Christina: Well, I was definitely whistling a different tune about him towards the end. *grumpface*
Jag: I kind of liked when Blake came on board and Daemon had a little competition, but ya I was never quite sure what his true intentions were.

The story/plot:
Celeste: Once again, like Obsidian, it is way more complex than you first think. I was blowing through the pages looking for Daemon and Katy, but as I did the plot was built and grew without me even realizing it.
Christina: Yep, JLA is definitely a sneaky one. She makes you think you’re reading this really kickass love story (WHICH YOU ARE, HELLO!) but then BAM! You realize you’re also reading this really kickass sci-fi story with a whole lot of exciting plots twists and turns, too!
Ana: Lots more adventure and action in this book and each time there was a twist in the story I was reminded that this book was about more than just how yummy Daemon is (but I was happy when I got to bask in his yumminess too!)
Jag: Not gonna lie, I’m all about the relationship and UST but I did enjoy the action.  With so many questions about the DOD and Daedalus left unanswered, I can only imagine what is coming next.

The ending:
Celeste: Holy crap! I have some theories!
Christina: Oh, hello there, cool new plot development! Things are about to get interesting.
Ana: Well…here we go!  This ending has so many possibilities for an incredible third book.
Jag: So many possibilities…. I want to see Daemon and Katy be a true couple, and I really want to get to know Dawson in the next book and ya the sadistic side of me wants a Daemon-Katy-Dawson love triangle.  haha as if!

Other couples/characters /stuff we don’t want to leave out: 😉

  • Adam & Dee:
    Celeste: awww!!I love them. *wipes tear*
    Christina: *sobsobsob* I can’t with them. I heart them so much.
    Ana: loved that they got together…*tears, tears, tears*
    Jag: I was sad but I never felt emotionally invested in this pair enough to be really upset.  I have no soul lol
    Celeste: lol, Jag. It’s only because they just went at it and there was no UST.
  • Dee
    Celeste: She truly is such a good friend to Katy.
    Christina: She honestly is everything you could want out of a BFF.
    Ana: Liked her better in this book…she wasn’t such a stalker! lol
    Jag: I felt a little disconnected from Dee in this book. I hope the author brings her back into the story a little more.
  • Mr. Garrison (Matthew):
    Celeste: I really liked him by the end. I found him totally trustworthy.
    Christina: He’s the perfect “Dad” figure for our little alien group. I like him.
    Ana: Enjoyed that we got to get to know him on a deeper level and I really liked him in this book.
    Jag: I am suspicious of him and I will leave it at that.
    Celeste: oooh, Jag. Now I’m rethinking. Maybe I’m too trusting.
  • Will:
    Christina: Something smells fishy, and I think he’s reeking of it. *crinkles my nose*
    Ana: If something (or someone) seems too perfect, there’s probably something they’re hiding!
    Jag: ICK! That is all.
  • Katy in Dee’s dress for the party:
    Christina: *giggles* Brownchickenbrowncow.
    Ana: She’s had a special Daemon-heart-stopping dress in both books so far.  I likey!
    Jag: Sexay!
    Celeste: I love that when Katy gets dolled up she knows she looks good and Daemon’s eyes seem to jump out of his head. 🙂
  • Ash:
    Christina: I seriously hate the b***h. *sharpens my claws* *hisses* (Okay, stopping with that cat stuff now. Honest.)
    Ana: Hate her…don’t know if I’ll ever feel she had any redeeming qualities but knowing JLA she’ll have me loving her at some point even as I fight it! lol
    Jag: I don’t hate her. I feel sorry for her and I think she will become a good guy.  If you’ve ever read House of Night books, you’ll know what I’m talking about.
    Celeste: I don’t hate her either. I think she is just fighting for what is hers. I also think she and Katy will end up becoming friends.

The extra from Daemon’s POV:
Christina: *le swoony sigh* I always enjoy the glimpses we get inside Daemon’s thoughts, and I can’t wait for Books 4 & 5 where we’ll get alternating POV’s of Katy and him.
Ana: Yes!  I’m excited that the upcoming books will offer us Daemon’s POV as part of the story!  I love to see and hear what he’s thinking!
Jag: These are AMAZING I wish more authors would do these!
Celeste: Um… me = flat lining

Rec it?
Christina: You bet your kitten asses I do. (I couldn’t help it.)
Ana: Only to those kittens who hunger for a little catnip! bwahahaha!
Jag: YES! Keep the cold shower running though, you’ll be hopping in there…a lot.  *fans self*
Celeste: YES YES YES. That is all. I cannot wait for Opal!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (thebookhookup.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

